Computers and Technology

Home Computers and Technology

Zwave Zigbee

• exindy (1303 posts)
    Profile photo of exindy Banned

Zwave Zigbee

Learning about protocols. Wading through mud. Right now I’m about half retired. Work 2-3 part days a week doing mostly what I want and being annoying. Helps having a FIGMO attitude.

Anyway, in looking for my next awesome career choice I was looking at my ADT controller. Hmm. Might be interesting.

Some security systems use Z-Wave (ADT, Guardian). I believe Xfinity uses Zigbee. It’s like back in the early LAN days. Then there’s Nest which hasn’t been embraced by the security folks. Kinda like your cousins kid who plays with matches when they visit. Lots of jockeying for position with no standard emerging yet. Exactly like the early LAN days.

And lo and behold, X10 is still around. I hadn’t seen it in forever.

As I’m studying, I’ve found an overlap into the Internet of Things (IoT). Those people are working in the other direction. Hmm, more intriguing. They’re going to bump heads. Soon. As an example, Kwikset locks use Z-Wave. And the IoT and security bump right there. IoT will support either primary protocol.

As to the potential job: The idea of a being a home security consultant might be a good sideline. Coincides with the low number of hours I really want to work. I noticed in my dealing with ADT that they had an install tech who was good at his job (like an electrician is great at running wires and installing stuff) and a salesperson who was great at selling (like the lighting store people),

but there was this gaping hole for design options. Just like the electrical layout. Yeah, that’s a great fixture and just what fits my needs and I know the electrician will do an awesome job putting it and the switch in,