JPR Mental Health Support Group

Struggling to cope.

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      David the Gnome
      Participant
      • Total Posts: 3,532

So, for a couple weeks now I’ve had a tooth ache that alternates between being painful or just feeling really weird – like pressure.  I know I have an abscess tooth, but can’t get a dental appointment anywhere.

Each day I get a surprise as to where I will hurt next.  My back, stomach, chest, some times an arm.  Unexplained pain, near constant “free floating” anxiety as they call it.  I take medication that somes times helps some.  I’m in therapy.  I constantly redirect my thoughts to manage them – and distraction is a frequently used tool.  Breathing exercises, meditation, various types of alternative therapy.

Right now, feels terrible.  Like my body and mind are panicking for no apparent reason.  One minute I feel angry, the next sad, the next scared.

Some times, like now, I can’t even find someone to talk to.  No one to call.  So I write, because somehow I can still do that, no matter how much I’m freaking out.

I guess my point is that I’m in pain, frustrated, scared – and that this stuff just never seems to go away.  Some times I can manage it, but some times, like right now… My mind feels untethered.  I feel somehow disconnected from the world.  Everything is quiet – and I am often alone.

Some times life is just terrifying.

kelly
      Participant
      • Total Posts: 589